Secoda Docs
Ask or search…
K
Links

Invite your teammates

Secoda is a tool built for collaboration. This section will go over how to add members of your team, how to control their permissions and roles, and how to group them.

Benefits to inviting teammates to Secoda

  1. 1.
    Improved collaboration: By inviting teammates to Secoda, you can facilitate collaboration and ensure that everyone has access to the data and data documentation they need to do their job. This can help reduce confusion and improve the efficiency of your team.
  2. 2.
    Centralized data management: Inviting teammates to Secoda allows you to centralize data management and ensure that all team members have access to the most up-to-date data and documentation. This can help reduce the risk of errors or misunderstandings due to outdated or incomplete information.
  3. 3.
    Enhanced security: Inviting teammates to Secoda allows you to control access to your data and ensure that only authorized team members have access to sensitive information. This can help protect your data and enhance security within your organization.
  4. 4.
    Improved data governance: By inviting teammates to Secoda, you can establish clear roles and responsibilities for data management and ensure that all team members follow established data governance policies and procedures.
Overall, inviting teammates to Secoda can help improve collaboration, centralize data management, enhance security, and improve data governance within your organization.

How to invite teammates to Secoda

One of the first things you'll be prompted to do when you open the Secoda app for the first time is invite people that you work with. Only workplace admins are able to invite new users.
To start inviting teammates, go to the Settings page by clicking the ⚙ button in the bottom left corner. From here, click Members.
On this screen, you'll be able to see the plan level that you and your team are on, and the number of seats this plan includes. You'll also see a Viewer invite link to send to teammates (who will be added as Viewers by default).
If you're adding multiple teammates at once, we recommend using the "Invite members" button so that you can add them in bulk.

Assigning Roles

In this same screen, you can view current members in your Secoda space, their emails, and the role that they have within Secoda.
You can edit teammate roles by clicking on the role button that is beside their name and info.
For more on what permissions certain roles have, check out Roles.

Deactivating Members

To Deactivate a member from your workspace, click Deactivate beside their name. The user's name will still appear on resources that they had previously owned, but will have a strike through their name. This can be helpful context to know who had the historical knowledge of a dataset.

Groups & Teams

Creating Groups and Teams will be important for user management. Read more about user management here:
Not using Secoda to manage your data documentation yet? Sign up for free here 👈
Last modified 1mo ago